Please call us on 0412 108 596

Reviews

A 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom, rural retreat in Portland, New South Wales 

What have people said about Mountain View Escape?

Hannah
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Beautiful holiday!
June 25, 2017

We had a special time here, the house is put together wonderfully and the land is stunning.
Jane
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Wonderful Place to Stay
May 30, 2017

I stayed here in March and this is a very tardy review! I stayed with my husband and mother who was visiting from overseas and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautifully designed and decorated and so interesting and unique. Everything was as pictured, clean and extremely comfortable. It was lovely to have so much seating space, inside and out. The verandah is beautiful and there is constant birdlife visiting, mostly to eat the grapes that grow on the front of the verandah and they provide a constant source of entertainment. There are binoculars and a bird identification chart for those who are interested. The outside sofa is a perfect place for a glass of wine in the evening and to watch the birds. My husband LOVED feeding the hay to the alpacas. The bedrooms are very pretty, and the bathroom is large with a huge shower. Everything was clean and well-kept and the kitchen has a whole array of equipment and utensils - we cooked a salad and pizza, and a roast dinner while we there. The wood fire is great, heats very quickly - the ceiling fan really does distribute the heat well. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Only gripe - I found the mattress in the rear guest bedroom a little soft and unsupportive for my liking, but I do like a hard mattress. My Mum slept in the main bedroom and absolutely loved the mattress! The owner Annie is lovely and easy to deal with - thanks Annie for a very lovely stay.
Emma
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Wonderful escape
May 1, 2017

We enjoyed everything about our stay. The house and property are simply stunning with just the right amount of seclusion. The wild horses were outside the gate to welcome us when we arrived and the alpacas were great to have roaming about. We caught lots of yabbies in the dam too. Annie could not have been more helpful and the beautiful flowers were such a thoughtful touch for a special occasion. Thank you Annie!!!!
Dylan
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Truly amazing place, worth every $$$
April 24, 2017

A group of friends and I stayed for a weekend and had the most amazing time. The property felt like home immediately. A massive kitchen was perfect for cooking big group dinners. The house is gorgeous and everything is beautiful. I have to say my favourite moment was relaxing in the daybed as the sun set. We're coming back in winter because it's too good to only stay once...
Lesley
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Fantastic Stay
April 21, 2017

We had an amazing Easter Weekend at this property. Annie was a very lovely host. The property was even better than we expected. We originally had plans to go sightseeing but as soon as we stepped into the house, no one wanted to leave. We will definitely be coming back.
Patrice
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Fantastic property!
March 22, 2017

This is an amazing property, stocked with everything you would find in your home plus some. Our adult family of 5 had a wonderful few days, relaxing in the huge living room browsing the impressive collection of books, CDs and DVDs or on the comfortably furnished verandah, enjoying the view, the birdlife and the alpacas. Annie made sure our stay was exceptional, communicating with us before our stay. Highly recommend this lovely and peaceful spot.
Laura
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Complete relaxation!
March 20, 2017

I have stayed at Mountain View several times over the past few years and each time it never fails to delight. Annie is an amazing host who really pays attention to the little details. Absolutely marvellous!
VICKI
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Excellent place
October 25, 2016

Great place to stay for a girls weekend.The house was amazing,everything we needed was there.Thanks Annie for a wonderful house, can't wait to go back.
Pam
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Surprise Package! Stunning Country Escape!
October 17, 2016

We were extremely pleased that we chose Mountain View Escape for our 5 night country getaway. Everthing about the property exceeds expectations! The bedrooms and bathrooms are well appointed with luxurious bedding and all the comforts of home. The massive open plan living area features 4 seperate areas with a lovely fireplace, plenty of spots to relax and a kitchen with condiments, spices, everything you need and more! The spacious deck is full of surprises and features lots of outdoor seating, a bbq and even a day bed. The homestead is a great place to relax but there is also lots to do with plenty of board games, bird watching and feeding, yabbying and even the alpacas like to be fed by hand. We highly recommend Mountain View Escape to anyone looking for a country getaway, it suits families, couples and groups and has something for everyone.
Jen
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
World Class!
October 12, 2016

My young family and I have travelled throughout Europe, the Middle East, Asia and the Pacific and rarely have we encountered both the generosity or hospitality of Annie Lualua at Mountain View Escape. The Farmstay was a revelation from beginning to end. Our reservation was confirmed in lightning speed. Our every request met with a smile and a suggestion that exceeded expectations. I've never met Annie before but would recommend her Farmstay for anyone looking for a rustic, old-school getaway in which all the creature comforts have been sorted and you only need to show up. It works as a romantic getaway, family break or friend and family get together. The house is big and beautiful. Enjoy and help support a business that really is invested in your rest and relaxation.
Andrew
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Amazing stay at an amazing property
August 29, 2016

Six of us recently stayed for a weekend break at Mountain View Escape. From the moment we arrived, we were impressed by this place. So spacious and tastefully decorated, everything was perfect about the house! Annie is an awesome host, the emails leading up to the trip were great, she made sure that we were left wanting for nothing. The two friendly Alpacas in the garden came to say hi in the mornings. The stars at night are so clear - something you just don't see in the city plus the silence at night, oh the silence - outstanding. I can't recommend this place enough. I would give it more stars if it were possible :)
Andy
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Perfect spot for leaning back and enjoying peace
March 7, 2016
As a family of six adults and two children 3 and 5 years old, we had the perfect relax together. Calm and peaceful, the house is on a reasonably large fenced block with two friendly alpacas to feed. We did a few local walks, watched the sun set as we barbecued, and soaked up an atmosphere about as far away as you can get from the hustle and bustle of a big city. Clean air, no noise apart from lots of native birds chirping, and the occasional kangaroo in the evening. That doesn't mean there was nothing to do. Annie had provided lots of books, magazines and DVDs of all sorts. A short drive to Portland found a country butcher, supermarket and quaint pubs a generation removed from anything the city has to offer, and at least for this elderly codger, a sense of returning to a nearly forgotten past. If you're thinking about it: do it. Your inner self will thank you.
Jennifer
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
A gem on the western slopes of the Blue Mountains
October 31, 2015

Mountain view provided a peaceful place to relax for the 5 days we stayed in October 2015. The accommodation was comfortable and cosy. There were many thoughtful inclusions, such as: a fire ready for lighting with unlimited wood provided, pick your own herbs, kitchen stocked with condiments, oils, onions and garlic. Bedroom included dressing gowns, slippers and coats. The best provisions were the reading material provided - some going back many decades. Even 1950's original Australian Women's Weekly - so nostalgic. We also enjoyed feeding multiple native birds with seed provided. We noted other animals on the property - alpacas, wombats, rabbits and kangaroos. A very welcoming and enjoyable place, conveniently located not far from Portland and short drive to Sydney. We are already planning a return visit. Thank you Annie.
Simone, May 2015
A magical place - will be back
A fantastic location - close to town but you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Very secluded and peaceful with lots of native animals and birds. The property itself is just beautiful - so cosy for a winter escape. The fire and heaters kept the place so warm. The kitchen is extremely well equipped for a gourmet cook to do everything you chose. There are so many cosy places to sit and read a book or play games (so many games provided for entertainment). The out door living was also excellent - lounges outside to curl up on in the sun during the day or with a blanket at night to watch the stars. This would also be a fantastic place in summer as the house opens up and the outdoor areas ideal for entertaining dinners. Beds were cosy - sheets and linens etc all very good. The house was so clean and fire lit for our arrival. Our delightful host Annie even called to make sure we arrived safe and sound. We were just a couple - and it was so spacious for us - but it would be just as ideal for a family or group of friends looking to escape. We went on bush walks each day in the area and also did a lot of relaxing around the house. I will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend this delightful piece of paradise!
Ivan, December 2013
Portland's best accommodation!!
Absolutely wonderful stay! The owner made us feel very comfortable and told us everything we needed to know! This is a beautifully clean, quiet, spacious house furnished with lovely antiques and well stocked with all the essentials. This house is located in very quiet surrounds and only the sounds of the birds can be heard as you wake up and the entire day and we loved this location. It is just 4 minutes drive from the shops and the church. The house has a nice, fully fitted kitchen, dining area and two sitting areas leading on to the enormous veranda. The veranda is a fascinating and relaxing place to sit for as long as you like and the visits of the exotic wildlife is endless. The two sitting areas have very comfortable fabric and leather sofas. The three bedrooms are spacious and the massive shower recess in the bathroom is fantastic.
There was nothing else we would fault about this lovely house. If you want to have a quiet holiday this house is a very good choice.
Danielle
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
Mountain View Escape - totally!!
May 31, 2016

As the name suggests 'Mountain View Escape'! 
 We had 4 adults, 2 kids, and a dog! And WOW this property didn't disappoint! 
 Views - tick!
 Wood fire, inside and out - tick!
 Games, books and magazines galore - tick!
 Alpacas - tick! 
 Huge deck to wine and dine outside - tick!
 Amazing house - tick, tick, tick! 
 Relaxing long weekend - Yes.
 
 Annie was amazing and very prompt with communications. The house was very well prepared with lots of little treats for the guest to indulge in! Very well thought through for visitors! Can't wait to book again!
Jess
Rated 5 out of 5 stars
amazing property
January 3, 2016
We loved out stay, was a lovely country home and a great property with wonderful views, house is equipped with everything you can think off, pet friendly, out dog had the time of her life running round the property. the only downside is that we should have stayed longer.
Brant, August 2015
Terrific Getaway from the City
We had a wonderful stay at this property earlier this Winter. It was a wonderful way to show my overseas guests the Australian country side! Annie thought of everything and kept us updated along the way. She even had the outdoor fireplace ready to light with paper and wood on top ! All we had to do was light it and start toasting the marsh mellows ! The house was very nice with the high ceilings, clean and remote which was great for looking at the stars and relaxing. Having the alpacas around was just a bonus! We also saw kangaroos and wombats close by the property which my guests really enjoyed. Thank you again
Li Fu, July 2015
Wonderful house with magnificent surroundings!
We had a weekend getaway at this place in July. We were amazed by how fully equipped the house and thoughtful of the owner was. The place is surrounded by acres of greens and full with natural beauty and wild life. We had a wonderful time with our friends and puppies, and we will definitely come back again!
Oli, May 2015
Heaven on Earth
i treated my folks to a weekend in this place while they were over form the UK - all I can say is wow. the place feels like home the minute you walk through the door. everything is supplied, couldn’t have asked for more and what host, from the furniture design and general comfort. a truly memorable weekend spent in an amazing place, in a peaceful rural location - can’t wait to come back
 Lisa, April 2015
Stunning views and supreme comfort
We arrived on a Friday afternoon for 2 nights (despite the fact that our generous hosts had given us early check in and late check out)... Wow! Amazing. The sensational wood fire kept us very cosy at night as did the blankies on every bed. We took 3 well behaved dogs and all seriously had a blast. Couldn't believe the quality or amenities. We took a few books, games etc but they weren't needed - thus fabulous property has everything! I'd go back in a heart beat. It was quirky, very very clean and also private. Thank you Annie xxx
Av, August 2014
Fabulous place
What a great find! This made the perfect winter weekend getaway with friends. The house and grounds were so enjoyable we didn't need to leave at all during our 4 days. Alpacas, yabbies, a variety of birds, neighbouring sheep and goat and horses. It was the perfect wind down from the city complete with stunning sunrises and even some snow on one night. Annie was very friendly in managing the booking with and the overall experience was fantastic. Very comfortable and clean and warm with all the kitchen, bathroom & laundry needs covered, plus more firewood than we could ever have used!! Enjoy
Rose, October 2014
Gorgeous house, what a pleasure
we loved our weekend away here. It is one of the most tastefully decorated homes I have been in, which makes it all the more amazing that canines are welcome. The owner, is so welcoming and there are myriad little touches that feel very special.
Book now -  call 0412 108 596
Share by: